The 'German Network for Bioinformatics Infrastructure – de.NBI' is a service and training network funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). It is composed of eight service units and managed by a Coordination and Adminstration Unit consisting of the de.NBI Coordinator and the team of the Administration Office (AO).

The Central Coordiantion Unit (CCU) is the decision-making body and consists of nine de.NBI scientists (the de.NBI coordinator and the coordinators of the eight de.NBI units). The strategic work of the CCU is supported by subcommittees, named Special Interest Groups (SIGs).

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is an independent panel, composed of leading international bioinformaticians from Europe.

The governance structure of de.NBI is illustrated in the de.NBI Organigram.

de.NBI Organigram


Organizational chart of the 'German Network for Bioinformatics Infrastructure - de.NBI'. The illustration includes the external supervision by a scientific advisory board and the BMBF/Pt Jülich.

de.NBI Coordinator

The distinguished mission of the de.NBI coordinator is the building of the overall de.NBI service network, including the scientific collaboration with international bioinformatics network structures. The de.NBI coordinator is the chairman and a voting member of the Central Coordination Unit (CCU) and is responsible for the overall organization, the management and the future development of de.NBI. The de.NBI coordinator is the highest institution of the de.NBI consortium and represents the interests of all de.NBI partners to third parties.

pi alfred puehler  Alfred Pühler
de.NBI Coordinator
Bielefeld, Germany

Contact details

phone: +49 (0) 521 106-8750
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Special Interest Groups (SIGs) are small discussion groups of de.NBI experts from all de.NBI units and are established by the Central Coordination Unit (CCU). These subcommittees focus on topics relevant for operational and strategic decisions by the de.NBI management. Seven Special Interest Groups have been established by the CCU: SIG 1 Communication and Outreach; SIG 2 Service and Service Monitoring; SIG 3 Training and Education; SIG 4 Interoperability and Data Management; SIG 5 de.NBI Development; SIG 6 de.NBI Cloud (estab. 2016) and SIG 7 ELIXIR Cooperation (estab. 2017).

SIG 1 - Communication & Outreach

pi jens stoye Jens Stoye
SIG 1 Chairperson
Bielefeld, Germany
pi flo sprengel Florian Sprengel
Deputy Chairperson
Bielefeld, Germany

SIG 2 - Service & Service Monitoring

pi frank oliver gloeckner Frank Oliver Glöckner
SIG 2 Chairperson
Bremen, Germany
pi uwe scholz Uwe Scholz
Deputy Chairperson
Gatersleben, Germany

SIG 3 - Training & Education

pi oliver kohlbacher Oliver Kohlbacher
SIG 3 Chairperson
Tübingen, Germany
pi daniel wibberg Daniel Wibberg
Deputy Chairperson
Bielefeld, Germany

SIG 4 - Interoperability & Data Management

pi martin eisenacher Martin Eisenacher
SIG 4 Chairperson
Bochum, Germany
pi wolfgang mueller Wolfgang Müller
Deputy Chairperson
Heidelberg, Germany

SIG 5 - de.NBI Development

pi alfred puehler Alfred Pühler
SIG 5 Chairperson
Bielefeld, Germany
pi ursula kummer Ursula Kummer
Deputy Chairperson
Heidelberg, Germany

SIG 6 - de.NBI Cloud

pi chris lawerenz Chris Lawerenz
SIG 6 Chairperson
Heidelberg, Germany
pi alex sczyrba Alexander Sczyrba
Deputy Chairperson
Bielefeld, Germany

SIG 7 - ELIXIR Cooperation

pi alex goesmann Alexander Goesmann
SIG 7 Chairperson
Gießen, Germany
pi heidrun gundlach Heidrun Gundlach
Deputy Chairperson
Munich, Germany

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) acts as a consultative body to provide recommendations to the de.NBI partners and, in particular, to the Central Coordination Unit (CCU) on technical, organizational and strategic matters related to the de.NBI mission statement. Evaluation of the de.NBI consortium by the SAB is scheduled as an annual process that is associated to de.NBI workshops. The Scientific Advisory Board is constituted of six members who are internationally renowned scientists in bioinformatics.

sab janet thornton

Janet Thornton
Director Emeritus of EMBL-EBI and Senior Scientist
SAB Chairperson

Hinxton, United Kingdom
sab ron appel Ron D. Appel
Executive Director of Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
Lausanne, Switzerland
sab ivo gut Ivo G. Gut
Director of Centro Nacional de Análisis Genómico
Barcelona, Spain
sab ivo hofacker Ivo Hofacker
Head of Research Group Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, University of Vienna
Vienna, Austria
sab alice mchardy Alice C. McHardy
Head of Department Computational Biology of Infection Research, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research
Braunschweig, Germany
sab reinhard schneider Reinhard Schneider
Head of Bioinformatics Core Facility, Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine, University of Luxembourg
Belvaux, Luxembourg